What are my chances/options to return to U.S. - Please advice

Hi All,

I would really really appreciate if you can please take time to go through the following detailed information and guide me about my chances/options to return to the U.S.

I completed my Masters degree in the U.S. But due to recession at that time I could not find a job and got in to a Ph.D. program (at a good school) with an intention to complete it. But due to my bad financial situation (being from a middle class family, had to take a bank loan for my Masters degree with high interest rates), I could not concentrate to make much progress on my research (worked as a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA - for about 3 years) for small pay check that would not help me to pay off my loans).

I kept applying for Internships (with an intention to switch to H1 Visa) and luckily got one with a good company (Had to work with the company on CPT and had to pay my own semester fees - which was very expensive). Unfortunately just within 4 months of my joining, the company started laying off employees due to sequestration effect. I wanted to return to my Ph.D. school, but this time I could not get a GTA position for the next semester and I could not afford to continue there anymore. However, there was an option to take a leave/break from my Ph.D. program upto 5 years and return to our country. I did not have any other option and hence applied for one year leave and returned to India.

I have been a state rank holder in my tenth, a gold medalist in my Undergrad and maintained a 4.0 G.P.A in my Masters degree. I lived in U.S. for about 5-6 years and did not get a single opportunity to settle my life and take care of my loans/my parents in India. Right now I am in India, and at times I get very stressed out due to my financial situation.