H4 visa 221g due to spouse NIE refusal

Hello all,

My wife recently applied for her first H4 visa and went to the interview at Delhi embassy, while I was still in India after our wedding. Due to the travel ban being implemented during my stay in India, I applied for an NIE 3 times and got rejected each time (I am a software engineer in Seattle). Her visa was rejected on 221g because they wanted to see my NIE which was rejected, so she did not have it. I am currently in a third country and will hopefully enter the USA next week.

My question is, should I ask her to submit my arrival I-94 as proof that I am in the USA, or should she be going for a new visa interview appointment now that I will reach the USA?

She may apply for NIE on family separation basis to the same consulate she applied for visa and if approved send the NIE approval email to the consulate requesting to approve her visa.

It is not advisable to do a new appointment if you have been issued 221g and the decision is pending.

Also if you work in any of the below industries, you may qualify for NIE and should get a well drafted NIE letter from your employer.

Hi Kalpesh,

Thanks a lot for your reply! I work for Amazon in the Prime Video department. I’ve applied for NIE 3 times during the time I’ve been in India, and all 3 times it has been rejected, so I’m now in the Maldives, staying here for 15 days and will be going to the USA early next week.

As for my wife’s NIE, is your recommendation that I apply for it as soon as I reach the USA? She doesn’t have her visa, but a family separation case definitely applies to her. Has this worked for other people who are in my situation (where the husband doesn’t have a NIE but the wife gets it based on family separation case)?

Thanks,
Dev

Hi Kalpesh,

Thank you for sending this link! However, I do not see any experience that exactly matches the situation I am in. Could you please help guide my next steps?

Thanks,
Dev