H4 COS while H1 extension is pending

Hi Saurabh,

My project got finished 3 months back and I am on bench from then. My employer has filed my extension only a couple of weeks back just before my H1 expiry date. My wife has a full time job and she is also on H1. Now my kid is little unwell and as per doctor’s advice some one has to take care of him for a couple of months.

My wife cannot stay back home as she has a more secured job when compared to me, I am a contractor so I am planning to move to H4 immediately as I am already on bench without a project from quite some time. I need your advice on the below:

1. Can I change to H4 while my H1 extension is pending. I got my H1 extension receipt no.and my I94 was expired a couple of weeks back.

2. If I change to H4 will it be permitted now as I don’t have a valid i-94 now ( I am staying here as my employer filed for it just in time)

3. I can pay for my H1 extension PP expenses but I dont think I need it right now and moreover I dont thin I can afford it now so can I change to h4 even with h1 extension (wiith i-94) pending.

4. If I can change to H4 , then what is process to change to H4 and how much time will it take. Do I need to again pay something for H4 conversion like PP charges etc… to get it done faster.

5. After my kid’s treatment, like can I change back to H1 then if I change to H4 now. Will it then impact my H1 conversion then because of this move ( to change to H4 now while my H1 extension) is pending.

I definitely need your advice and thanks for all your suggestions on this blog.

Regards

Kanchen

1. COS cannot be applied as your current I-94 has expired. So approval of H-4 COS is dependent on H-1 extension approval (which will issue new I-94)

2. See (1)

3. No, you cannot get COS w/o H-1 extension approval. So get H-1 extension approval w/ PP and then apply for COS.

4. You have to file I-539. Processing time is 2-4 months