H1B approved, employer not giving approval notice and not paying as per the minimum prevailing wage

Hi guys,

I am working at a small startup in the US (location not disclosed for security purpose). Initially, when I started my job I was an unpaid intern. After a while, my employer started giving me a monthly stipend for my basic expenses. He started the stipend and promised to file H1-B visa and claimed that only after the visa is approved, he would start paying me the minimum prevailing wage on H1-B ($60,000+). My H1-B was filed in April 2018. I was picked in the lottery and received an RFE in July 2018 and was approved in October 2018.

Unfortunately, in my case, both the USCIS’s case tracking websites did not update for me (uscis.gov/casestatus and myaccount.dhs). It is still showing ‘Case Was Received’. Since my employer is the only source to get any updates, he did not mention about RFE for 2 months and at the last minute, he decided to say that I have an RFE. The RFE was not that complicated and it took 10 days to prepare the response but even in that case, he asked the lawyers to send the packet as late as possible. He planned to send it so that it would be delivered on the day of the deadline and no earlier.

I called the third party law offices who represent our company and they said that “There is no lawyer on file for your case. Your entire application was filed by your employer and he consulted us only to prepare a response to RFE. We received the RFE document from your employer and not from USCIS. Even if we would have called USCIS, they would not share the information with us. Your employer is the single point of contact for this application.” (official response from one of the attorneys).