Change in terms after H1B approval

Hi Guys,

I’m in a unique situation and need advise, I was approached by a US employer in December 2018 for hiring and H1B sponsorship. After series of evaluations and interviews i was selected and they offered me around $100K annual which i accepted. This is first time in i got an offer with H1B sponsorship.
They processed my case under premium processing and were excellent in communication. Within April i was informed that i have been selected and by mid May they sent me my i-797B form stating my approval. I was asked to wait for their signal to apply visa and i agreed. Petition is valid till May 2020.

A month back they approached me and now asking to change the terms of agreement and downgrading salary to around $70K before they allow me to apply for visa. This is strange and I didn’t agreed this proposal.

Can you please advise, what are my options and can i go with another employer or it is THE END for me. Please note i am new to H1B process and have no personal friends available for advise.

Any employer is liable to pay a minimum of prevailing wages(which are mentioned on the LCA of the H1B petition). If you know the prevailing wages on your labor and its more than what they want to pay you, you can request to meet that prevailing wages. If not, there is no binding for them to pay you what you want and you dont have binding to work for them. You can find another employer who can pay the amount acceptable for you.

Thanks a lot for your response. Basically i dont have any LCA document, I only have i-797B physical copy, 2 pages which do not contain any such details regarding minimum salary. i have couple of questions based on your reply.

1. Does new employer needs to file a new H1B petition of current approved petition can be used?
  2. Is it normal that an applicant changes employer before visa stamping process based upon reasoning i have, how USCIS or immigration sees this?
1 Like