My company agreed to file H1B visa and later rejected. Is the justification valid?

I have been working for a mid sized company for more than 3 years in USA. My visa status is H4 EAD and I felt this is a right time to ask my employer to sponsor my h1b visa.
My company have never filed H1b visa in the past. Since I have earned a great reputation in this company and my manager and even the CIO of IT department don’t want to loose me, they put up my request to HR. After many back and forth conversation between the HR and my manager/CIO they had finally agreed to file h1b for me. That was the happiest day. Since they don’t have any expertise in filing a visa they hired a legal company to file my application. Four months fast forward, Today I got a response from my HR that they cannot file my visa. Below is the explanation:

Your position as a BI Report Developer requires a minimum educational requirement of an Associate’s Degree although a Bachelor’s Degree is preferred. Alliance is unable to reclassify your position. Therefore, your position will not qualify as a “professional position” but instead a skilled worker, classifying the position in the “Other” employment-based category, which currently has a 10+ year retrogression wait.

Additionally, recruiting for your position with the requirement of an Associate’s Degree will solicit a large number of responses from qualified U.S. workers through recruitment, making it very difficult to obtain Labor Certification approval.

Below is an excerpt of the job posting for which I had applied 3 years ago.

Associates degree in Computer Science, Business Administration of a
related field and five (5) years of experience with increasing
responsibilities in managing and supporting information technology in a
healthcare setting;
Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, Business Administration or a
related field and three (3) years of experience with increasing
responsibilities for management and support of healthcare data reporting